Daily Archives: June 8, 2012

Bodily Reactions

How long does it take for your body and taste buds to change? I would love some information about that if anyone knows. I’m finding it harder and harder to eat anything that I used to eat simply because it doesn’t taste the same to me, and because it affects my body in ways I didn’t even realize! For instance, today I was swamped at work so instead of going home for lunch, I walked next door to the gas station and grabbed a slice of pizza, a bottle of so-called “all natural” lemonade, and a banana.

I’d have been better off to grab 2 bananas and a bottle of water for how I felt later. My whole body just went on high alert. I felt wired, shaky, tense, and almost “out-of-body”. I had an immediate headache and my senses were tingly. It was so foreign to me. I wonder if my kids have this same reaction to foods they haven’t had in awhile. I wonder if this is why they sometimes are climbing the walls? I should talk to them about that, and we can discuss why in the world we’re even bothering to eat this junk at all!

It sure doesn’t pay to be this busy; luckily, that should end next week. No more crappy pizza and lemonade!

When life gets busy, you just make do…

Wow, what a week already.  I’ve really been tested, and I haven’t passed every test with flying colors I’ll admit.  Still we’re doing well and better than usual so that’s something.

We were all dragging after that long hike last weekend, so we’ve toned down the exercise this week.  We’ve only gone to the track to walk or run twice so far, which is about half as much as normal.  The kids have increased their TV and computer time as a result and I can feel that strain in the house.  Seems like we’re all a bit on edge.  Very weird.

However, another hike is planned for this weekend, and I hope to get back to the track or at least back to evening activities this weekend.  Then in a couple of weeks we’re going on vacation to the mountains, and planning fun hikes every morning!  Ah, summer…

On the food end, though, several good things have happened.  Last Saturday, the local Farmer’s Market had their opening day so every weekend I have full access to local produce, meats, eggs and even seafood!  Also, I rejoined the CSA that I belonged to last year, and the deliveries started yesterday.  Between the market, the CSA and my own garden, we will have plenty of produce.  I am thrilled about that.  How better to “make half your plate fruits and vegetables” than with your own or at least local!  If I had a peach tree in the yard (or two!), life would be complete.  Here’s a picture of my CSA haul: